Comments Email Print

TORONTO — The Society of Plastics Engineers chose W. Brandt Goldsworthy for its 1997 SPE International Award for outstanding contributions in plastics.

SPE will present the award at its Antec '97, to be held April 28-May 2 in Toronto.

Goldsworthy invented the pultrusion process in 1950 and developed several other reinforced plastics technologies, including matched metal die molding. He also developed a plastic automobile body and a plastic airplane fuselage.

SPE also announced that Charles G. Fritz won the John W. Hyatt Award for service to humankind. Fritz's research led to new absorbable polymers and sutures.

Colin Austin won the Fred O. Conley Award for plastics engineering and technology. He pioneered plastic flow simulation, which revolutionized injection molding.

SPE's Education Award was given to Witold Brostow, who holds several positions at the University of North Texas in Denton.

Gordon B. Lankton, president of Nypro Inc., won the Business Management Award. Wade Adams won the Research Award for his work on polymer structures.

SPE's Industrial Product Award was won by the PF/2 Energized Flush system, a water-saving device made by W/C Technology Corp.

The Purpose Seating office chair made by Kimball International won the Consumer Product Award.