Plastics Pioneers name new members, honor Glenn Beall

By: Bill Bregar

October 2, 2013

The Plastics Pioneers Association has named eight new members, and named plastics historian Glenn Beall as winner of the Distinguished Service Member award.

A product designer, Beall is a long-time owner of his own consulting firm, Beall Plastics Ltd. in Libertyville, Ill. He is a member of the Plastics Hall of Fame, is an SPE fellow and has been a PPA member since 1984.

Beall also has worked with Syracuse University on behalf of PPA to set up a reading room at the university library, which houses historical industry artifacts from the National Plastics Center.

New PPA members are:

Bob Dealey, who has spent his entire career in the plastics industry, focusing on mold making. He worked at Square D for eight years, where he ws a tool and project engineer, then was promoted top supervisor of tool and manufacturing engineering for the injection and compression molding operations.

For the past 17 years, Dealey has run Dealey's Mold Engineering, a consulting firm serving processors and moldmakers. The Society of Plastics Engineers named him Moldmaker of the Year in 1994. That same year he became an SPE Honored Service Member.

Richard Flannagan, a toolmaker in Leominster, Mass., served as secretary, treasurer and chairman of the SPE Pioneer Valley Section and vice president and president of the Northeast region of the Society of the Plastics Industry Inc. His toolmaking career began in 1963, first at Standard Tool, then as owner of Stan-Cast Inc.

Flannagan currently runs his own film, Molds International and Consulting.

Dennis Hayford, whose plastics career began in 1976 when he joined A. Schulman Inc. Since 2000, he has been executive director of North Carolina's Polymers Center of Excellence in Charlotte.

Hayford has been an active SPE member since 1978, at both the section and international levels, and he reached the status of SPE fellow in 1992. Hayford, who currently acts as adviser to the Carolinas' Section of SPE, is a two-time winner of SPE's Outstanding Section member Award.

Robert Jackson is president and CEO of Jackson Machinery Inc. in Port Washington, Wis., a blow molding machinery company he founded in 1985. Jackson's plastics career began in 1968.

He has served SPE as president of the mid-Michigan chapter, as national council for the Blow Molding Division's and chairman of the division's board of directors.

Tim Stojka, was CEO of Fast Heat Inc., a supplier of temperature control equipment. Throughout his career, Stojka has devoted time to several industry associations, most notably SPI. He has served as chairman of the NPE show and vice chairman of SPI's Midwest Region.

At the fall meeting in Syracuse, those five newly announced members were inducted into the PPA. Three previously-announced new members also were inducted in the class of eight: David Nolan, John Perdikoulias and Mark Spalding.