Cal State Fullerton to honor Marilyn Brewer

Comments Email Print
Submitted photo Brewer

Marilyn Brewer, co-founder of C. Brewer Co. and a former state legislator, is scheduled to receive an honorary alumna award from California State University, Fullerton.

The black-tie-optional Vision & Visionaries awards dinner will take place at a Fullerton restaurant on March 4 under the auspices of the university’s alumni association.

She served as treasurer and corporate secretary of plastics processor C. Brewer Co., which was founded in 1966. The business operates now as Balda C. Brewer Inc. USA under ownership of Italy’s Stevanato Group SpA.

Brewer represented southern Orange County's 70th Assembly District from 1994-2000.

She was founding chair of the Orange County Coalition for Comprehensive Mental Health Services and served a six-year governor-appointed term on the Milton Marks “Little Hoover” Commission on California State Government Organization and Economy.

“As a proud Titan parent and grandparent, she established the Marilyn C. Brewer Scholarship to support re-entry students working toward a teaching credential,” according to the association. “Brewer was a founding member of the Women of Distinction philanthropy support group and served on the CSF Philanthropic Foundation Board of Governors.”

She is credited with supporting CSUF’s Center for Healthy Neighborhoods program, the Cal State D.C. Scholars Program, the Cybersecurity Student Club and the Center for Oral and Public History. Recently, the Celebrating the Legacy of Orange County’s Political History event honored Brewer.

She was born in western Pennsylvania and received an associate’s degree from Fullerton College in 1983.

She resides in Newport Beach with her husband, Louis Romano, and enjoys golf, bridge and travel.

In addition, the association will present distinguished alumni awards to Walter Baranger, senior editor of The New York Times; Anthony Rendon, current speaker of the California State Assembly; and William Ruh, senior vice president and chief digital officer for General Electric Co. and CEO of the GE Digital business unit.

The university established the Vision & Visionaries distinguished alumni awards in 1994.